Lyver Trophy

The Lyver Trophy race was first introduced as a bi-annual race by Gordon Dewar from Liverpool Yacht Club, as a joint initiative with the Royal Dee Yacht Club.  The aim is to provice a R.O.R.C. Fastnet qualifying race for boats based in ports around the North West, including Liverpool, Blackpool, Fleetwood, Pwllheli, Holyhead and the Irish ports.
Requiring a minimum distance of 75 nautical miles, the first race in 1997 started in Liverpool and ended in Pwllheli, since then the start of the race moved to Holyhead, in order to maintain the growing reputation of the event and to attract yachts from Ireland and South Wales.  The start of the event returned to Liverpool in recent years following the devastation of Holyhead marina  during storm Emma in 2018.
The race is independently organised and managed by LYC forming a committee every 2 years for the purpose of providing a testing course and a qualifying race for the world famous Fastnet race and is funded jointly by members of LYC and Royal Dee Yacht Club.
Entries are welcome from all handicapped yachts and all issues regarding the running of such an event are strictly observed.